The page has been translated by Gen AI.

Manage Archiving Policies

You can add, modify, or delete archiving policies.

Add archiving policy

To add an Archiving policy, follow these steps.

  1. All Services > Storage > Archive Storage Click the menu. 1. Go to the Service Home page of Archive Storage.
  2. On the Service Home page, click the Archive Storage menu. 2. Go to the Archive Storage List page.
  3. Archive Storage List page, click the resource for which you want to add a policy. 3. Archive Storage Details Go to the page.
  4. Click the Add button of Policy Action. 4. Add Archiving Policy The popup window opens.
  5. After entering the Archiving policy information, click the Confirm button.
    CategoryDetailed description
    Archiving targetSelect the Object Storage bucket to perform archiving
    • Cannot be modified after initial configuration
    • Only buckets within the same region can be added
    • Buckets currently used in policies of other Archive Storage cannot be selected
    Policy nameEnter policy name
    • Enter using English letters, numbers, and special characters (- _) within 60 characters
    • Cannot enter a policy name identical to another Archiving policy name
    Target fileSelect files to archive
    • All: Perform archiving on all files
      • If a prefix is used in another Archiving policy, All cannot be set
    • Prefix: Perform archiving on files that include the specified prefix
      • Prefix input required when selected
      • Prefix cannot start with / and cannot contain special characters (%<>#\`^
    Policy workWhen selected, perform archiving on all versioned objects in Object Storage
    • When Archive Storage versioning is enabled: manage each version separately
    • When Archive Storage versioning is not used: manage by overwriting the current version
    execution timeEnter the archiving execution time
    • Enter a number between 1 and 3,650
    Table. Archiving policy addition popup items
Reference
  • The Archiving target can be set only once initially. * It cannot be modified after it is set.
  • If the target files for the Archiving policy are set to All, you cannot configure additional policies.
  • Archiving policies can be set up to a maximum of 100.
  • The archiving policy runs once daily based on the addition time.
  • The policy operation performs archiving on all versioned files in Object Storage.

Edit Archiving Policy

To modify the Archiving policy, follow these steps.

  1. All Services > Storage > Archive Storage Click the menu. 1. Navigate to the Service Home page of Archive Storage.
  2. Click the Archive Storage menu on the Service Home page. 2. Go to the Archive Storage List page.
  3. Archive Storage List page, click the resource to modify the policy. 3. Archive Storage Details Go to the page.
  4. Policy Actions list, select the policy you want to edit, then click the More > Edit button on the right. 4. Archiving policy edit The popup window opens.
  5. After editing the Archiving policy information, click the Confirm button.
Caution
If you reuse the bucket name of the archiving target, the configured archiving policy will be applied, so be careful.

Delete Archiving Policy

You can delete an unused Archiving policy.

information
If archiving is in progress, it cannot be deleted. On the detailed page’s Archiving History tab, after Cancel Operation, proceed with deletion.

To delete the Archiving policy, follow these steps.

  1. Click the All Services > Storage > Archive Storage menu. 1. Navigate to the Service Home page of Archive Storage.
  2. On the Service Home page, click the Archive Storage menu. 2. Go to the Archive Storage List page.
  3. On the Archive Storage List page, click the resource to delete the policy. 3. Go to the Archive Storage Details page.
  4. From the Policy Actions list, select the policy you want to delete, then click the More > Delete button on the right. 4. Delete Archiving Policy A popup window opens.
  5. After reviewing the Archiving policy information, click the Confirm button.
Reference
  • Even if you delete all Archiving policies, the Archiving targets remain.
  • Deleted Archiving policies cannot be viewed in the Archiving history.

Changing Archiving Policy Status

You can enable or disable the Archiving policy to change whether the Archiving policy is performed.

To change the Archiving policy status, follow these steps.

  1. All Services > Storage > Archive Storage Click the menu. 1. Navigate to the Service Home page of Archive Storage.
  2. On the Service Home page, click the Archive Storage menu. 2. Archive Storage List go to the page.
  3. Archive Storage List page, click the resource to change the Archiving policy status. 3. Go to the Archive Storage Details page.
  4. From the Policy actions list, click the More > Activate or More > Deactivate button for the policy whose status you want to change. 4. A popup window notifying a change in the Archiving policy status opens.
    • Enable: Perform archiving according to the archiving policy.
    • Disable: Stops archiving.
  5. Click the Confirm button. 6. The status of the Archiving policy has changed.

Cancel archiving

Notice
Only Archiving tasks that are pending or in progress can be canceled.

To cancel Archiving, follow the steps below.

  1. All Services > Storage > Archive Storage Click the menu. 1. Navigate to the Service Home page of Archive Storage.
  2. On the Service Home page, click the Archive Storage menu. 2. Navigate to the Archive Storage List page.
  3. On the Archive Storage List page, click the resource to cancel the Archiving operation. 3. Archive Storage Details page.
  4. Click the Archive history tab.
  5. In the Archiving history list, verify whether the status of the Archiving policy for which you want to cancel the job is Pending or In Progress.
  6. Cancel operation button, click it. 6. A cancel operation confirmation popup opens.
  7. Click the Confirm button. 7. The Archiving operation will be canceled.

Archiving operation method overview

The Archiving behavior based on the target is as follows.

Archiving targetDetailed description
Previous version/current version fileDepends on whether versioning is enabled for Archive Storage
  • Object Storage versioning: Enabled / Archive Storage versioning: Enabled
    • All versions in Object Storage are also managed version‑by‑version in Archive Storage
  • Object Storage versioning: Enabled / Archive Storage versioning: Disabled
    • Archiving is performed for all versions of Object Storage, but Archive Storage manages only the current version (file overwrite applied)
    • Since Archive Storage manages only the current version, previous version files from Object Storage cannot be viewed in Archive Storage
  • Object Storage versioning: Disabled / Archive Storage versioning: Enabled
    • Object Storage manages only the current version (overwrite applied), while Archive Storage manages versions individually
  • Object Storage versioning: Disabled / Archive Storage versioning: Disabled
    • Both Object Storage and Archive Storage manage only the current version (overwrite applied)
File containing Delete Marker versionDelete Marker version cannot be archived
  • When the latest version is a Delete Marker
    • Object Storage Details page’s Folder List tab cannot view the file
    • Archive Storage Details page’s Folder List tab can view it
  • When an intermediate version is a Delete Marker
    • The version cannot be seen in the file version list of Object Storage and Archive Storage
    • After archiving, only the Delete Marker version is retained in Object Storage
Empty folderCannot create folder in Archive Storage
Folder containing filesAfter archiving, the deletion of the folder in Object Storage varies depending on whether the folder is an Object
  • If the folder is an Object: the folder is retained and not deleted
    • When the folder is created first and then files are uploaded
    • When uploading the folder itself containing files from Windows
  • If the folder is not an Object: folder deletion
    • When uploading the folder itself containing files from Linux
    • When restoring the folder itself from Archive Storage to Object Storage
If there is no target fileExecute the archiving schedule as is
  • Archiving size: 0 B
If the target Object Storage bucket is terminated
  • Maintain display of Archiving target
  • When clicking the Archiving target (Object Storage) link, the bucket lookup fails
  • After bucket deletion, handle archiving failure
  • When recreating a bucket with the same name, maintain archiving with the new bucket
Table. Archiving method by archiving target
reference
  • Archiving is performed based on the Etag value of the Object Storage file.
  • After archiving, Version ID and Modification Timestamp are changed. * Note that the Etag value is the same.
How-to guides
Using Version Control