Backing Up and Restoring a Database
Users can configure MySQL (DBaaS) backups and restore from backup files through the Samsung Cloud Platform Console.
Back up MySQL (DBaaS)
MySQL (DBaaS) provides a data backup feature based on its own backup commands. Additionally, it provides an optimized backup environment for data protection and management through backup history verification and backup file deletion features.
Configure Backup
For instructions on configuring MySQL (DBaaS) backups, refer to Creating MySQL (DBaaS).
To modify the backup settings for the created resource, follow these steps.
- We recommend adding a separate BACKUP storage or sufficiently expanding the storage capacity to ensure stable backups. * Especially if the backup target data exceeds 100 GB and has frequent data changes, secure additional storage equivalent to approximately 60% of the data capacity. * For information on how to add and expand storage, refer to the Add storage to MySQL (DBaaS) and Expand storage for MySQL (DBaaS) guides.
- If a backup is configured, it runs at the specified time after the configured time, and additional charges apply based on the backup capacity.
- If you change the backup setting to Not Configured, backup execution stops immediately, and the stored backup data is deleted and can no longer be used.
To configure a backup, follow these steps.
- Click the All Services > Database > MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 1. Go to the Service Home page of MySQL (DBaaS).
- On the Service Home page, click the MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 2. Go to the MySQL (DBaaS) List page.
- Click the resource for which you want to configure a backup on the MySQL(DBaaS) List page. 3. Go to the MySQL (DBaaS) Details page.
- Click the Modify button for the backup item. 4. The Backup Settings popup window opens.
- To configure backups, click Enable in the Backup Settings popup window, select the retention period, backup start time, and Archive backup frequency, and then click OK.
- To stop the backup configuration, deselect Enabled in the Backup Configuration popup and authenticate through the phone of the logged-in user.
Once user authentication is complete, the backup configuration is disabled and backup execution is stopped.
- To stop the backup configuration, deselect Enabled in the Backup Configuration popup and authenticate through the phone of the logged-in user.
Perform an immediate backup
If additional data protection is required, you can quickly create a backup using the backup feature.
To perform an immediate backup, follow these steps.
- Click the All Services > Database > MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 1. Go to the Service Home page for MySQL (DBaaS).
- On the Service Home page, click the MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 2. Go to the MySQL(DBaaS) List page.
- On the MySQL (DBaaS) List page, click the resource for which you want to perform an immediate backup. 3. Go to the MySQL (DBaaS) Details page.
- Click the Immediate Backup button for the backup item. 4. The Immediate Backup Settings popup window opens.
- In the Set Up Immediate Backup dialog box, click the OK button.
Viewing Backup History
To view the backup history, follow these steps.
- Click the All Services > Database > MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 1. Go to the Service Home page for MySQL (DBaaS).
- On the Service Home page, click the MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 2. Go to the MySQL (DBaaS) List page.
- On the MySQL (DBaaS) List page, click the resource whose backup history you want to view. 3. Go to the MySQL(DBaaS) Details page.
- Click the Backup History button. 4. The Backup History popup window opens.
- You can check the backup status, version, backup start time, backup completion time, and size in the Backup History popup window.
Deleting Backup Files
To delete backup history, follow these steps.
- Click the All Services > Database > MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 1. Go to the Service Home page for MySQL (DBaaS).
- On the Service Home page, click the MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 2. Go to the MySQL(DBaaS) List page.
- On the MySQL(DBaaS) List page, click the resource to view the backup history. 3. Go to the MySQL (DBaaS) Details page.
- Click the Backup History button. 4. The Backup History popup window opens.
- In the Backup History popup window, select the file you want to delete and then authenticate through the phone of the logged-in user.
- Once user authentication is complete, the backup file is deleted.
Recover MySQL (DBaaS)
If restoration from a backup file is required due to a failure or data loss, the recovery feature enables point-in-time recovery. When you perform a MySQL (DBaaS) restore, a new server is created using the OS image from the initial provisioning, the database is installed at the version corresponding to the backup point in time, and the restore proceeds using the database configuration information and data.
To restore MySQL (DBaaS), follow these steps.
- Click the All Services > Database > MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 1. Go to the Service Home page of MySQL (DBaaS).
- On the Service Home page, click the MySQL(DBaaS) menu. 2. Go to the MySQL (DBaaS) List page.
- Click the resource you want to restore on the MySQL(DBaaS) Resources list page. 3. Go to the MySQL(DBaaS) Details page.
- Click the Database Recovery button. 4. Navigates to the Database Recovery page.
- Enter the relevant information in the Database Recovery Configuration area, and then click the Done button.
Category RequiredDetailed Description Recovery Type Required Set the point in time to which the user wants to restore. - Backup Point (Recommended): Restore based on a backup file. Select a point in time from the list of backup files displayed in the list.
- Custom Point: Restore to a user-specified point in time within the available backup range. The restorable period allows restoration up to 1 hour, 30 minutes, 10 minutes, or 5 minutes before the current time, depending on the Archive backup cycle setting, starting from the initial backup start time. Select the date and time for the backup.
Server name prefix Required Server name of the recovery DB Must be 3 to 16 characters long, starting with a lowercase letter and containing only lowercase letters, numbers, and special characters ( -).A postfix such as 001 or 002 is appended to the server name to generate the actual server name. Cluster Name Required Cluster name of the restored DB Enter 3 to 20 characters using letters A cluster is a unit that groups multiple servers Service Type > Server Type Required Server type where the recovery DB will be installed - Standard: Standard specifications commonly used
- High Capacity: High-capacity servers with 24 vCores or more (to be provided later)
Service Type > Planned Compute Select Resource status with Planned Compute configured - In Use: The number of resources in use among those with Planned Compute configured
- Configured: The number of resources with Planned Compute configured
- Coverage Preview: The amount applied by Planned Compute for each resource
- Create Planned Compute Service: Navigate to the Planned Compute service request page
- For details, refer to Request Planned Compute
Service Type > Block Storage Required Block Storage settings for the recovery DB Default OS: The area where the DB engine is installed DATA: The area for storing table data, archive files, and so on Applied identically to the storage type configured in the source cluster Enter the capacity as a multiple of 8 within the range of 16 to 5,120 Additional: The area for storing DATA, Archive, TEMP, and Backup data Applied identically to the storage type configured in the source cluster For a recovery DB, you can only add storage for DATA, TEMP, and Archive purposes After selecting Use, enter the storage purpose and capacity To add storage, click the Add button. To delete it, click the x button You can enter the capacity as a multiple of 8 within the range of 16 to 5,120, and create up to 9 storage instances Database username Required Database username configured in the source database Database Port Number Required The Database Port number configured in the source database IP Access Control Select IP address for accessing the recovery database - Enter in IP format (example:
192.168.10.1) or CIDR format (example:192.168.10.0/24,192.168.10.1/32) and click the Add button
- To delete an entered IP, click the x button next to the IP
Maintenance period Select DB Maintenance Window - Select Usage to configure the day of the week, start time, and duration.
- The maintenance window is a feature that allows users to set the time zone for performing patch operations. Patch operations within this time frame are the user’s responsibility.
- To ensure stable system operation, please configure a maintenance window. We are not responsible for any issues arising from failure to configure a window or failure to perform operations within the configured window.
Tag Select Add tag - Click the Add Tag button, then enter or select the Key and Value
Table. MySQL (DBaaS) recovery configuration items